The best Steam games in 2023 released in the annual Valve list
December 29, 2023

The best Steam games in 2023 released in the annual Valve list

Valve’s annual list, which among other things highlights the most profitable games from its Steam platform this year, includes data from the period from January 1 to December 15, 2023. The best Steam games are, as usual, divided into four different categories: platinum (1 – 12. places), gold (13th – 24th places), silver (25th – 50th places) and bronze (51st – 100th places).

The games that bring the most money this year on the Steam platform are those in the platinum category, i.e. the following 12 titles:

  • Counter-Strike 2
  • PUBG: Battlegrounds
  • Call of Duty
  • Apex Legends
  • Hogwarts Legacy
  • Dota 2
  • Starfield
  • Sons of the Forest
  • Destiny 2
  • Cyberpunk 2077
  • Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Lost Ark

There are no big surprises here, except perhaps the incredible success of the indie horror game Sons of the Forest and the fact that Destiny 2, despite all its problems, remains a popular game in the Steam community.

In addition, Valve has also compiled data on the “best-selling” new gaming titles, where we can find several more successful games from 2023, in addition to the already mentioned Hogwarts Legacy, Baldur’s Gate 3, Sons of the Forest and Starfield:

  • Resident Evil 4
  • Remnant 2
  • Street Fighter 6
  • Payday 3
  • EA Sports FC 24
  • Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
  • Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon

The best Steam games also include Valve’s data on the games that users played the most on the Steam Deck console, and the calculation was made according to daily active players. In addition to the usual titles such as Hogwarts Legacy, Resident Evil 4 and Starfield, in this game we also find ten-year-old Grand Theft Auto V, twenty-five-year-old Half-Life, Dave the Diver, Elden Ring and Vampire Survivors.

However, Valve will also announce community-voted Steam Awards in 11 different categories. If that’s something you’re interested in, you too can vote for the title you think should win the award by January 2, 2024 at 10 a.m. Pacific Time at this page.